Revert Azure DevOps Pipeline Changes

By | April 7, 2020

You can revert Azure DevOps Pipeline in case of any unexpected changes or wanted to return to any of the previous versions. Azure DevOps keep track of every change in Build Pipeline or Release Pipeline. When we are in the Edit mode of the Pipeline, from the History Tabs, we can see the list of changes on Pipelines along with when the changes were made and by whom. 

Revert Azure DevOps Pipeline Changes

Open the Pipeline in Edit Mode, that displays all the stages along with Tasks, Variables, Retention, Options, and History. Select the History tab tracks all the changes in the Pipeline.


Turning Azure DevOps Service On or Off

Azure DevOps Tips and Tricks

The History Tabs show the type of changes, along with Changed Date and Changed By.

Once you select the Particular Changes from the list, click …, It will show up two options, Compare Difference and Revert Pipeline.

You can select two of the changes and compare them.

Once you decided to which version to move back, select the changes, and click in “Revert Pipeline

To summarize, Compare and Revert the Azure DevOps Pipeline are very useful and hidden features of Azure DevOps. Overall, for any unexpected changes can be taken care of easily by reverting the pipeline changes.

Author: Abhijit Jana

Abhijit runs the Daily .NET Tips. He started this site with a vision to have a single knowledge base of .NET tips and tricks and share post that can quickly help any developers . He is a Former Microsoft ASP.NET MVP, CodeProject MVP, Mentor, Speaker, Author, Technology Evangelist and presently working as a .NET Consultant. He blogs at http://abhijitjana.net , you can follow him @AbhijitJana . He is the author of book Kinect for Windows SDK Programming Guide.